top of page
Search
  • Wendy Craighill

Great Review of the Sunset Beach Inn on the Eastern Shore


You KNOW I love the Sunset Beach Inn. I have introduced at least 20 people to this resort on the Eastern Shore of Virginia – just north of Chesapeake Bay Bridge Tunnel. I have taught dance to people on the patio, I have attended a wedding and have strolled down that beach hand in hand with little ones and kayaked with my better half. I love that place. It feeds the soul to just BE there. I came across a review of the Sunset Beach Resort, recently, and it really summed up what I have always thought: Sunset Beach Inn & Grille is more a way of life than a hotel!

"To all the folks panning this place and calling it a motel, yeah, that's what it is. Welcome to the Virginia Eastern Shore. If you thought you were getting South Beach, the problem is you just failed to understand where it was you were going. This kind of sums up what the shore is all about. It works, it keeps you off the ground, it's reasonably comfortable, and you shouldn't be spending time indoors anyways. Prices are extremely affordable. I paid $80 for a room during the summer (weekday). The room was plenty comfortable. Even though it's only an hour or so south of where I live, it was convenient for an early morning fishing trip I took. I was very glad I stayed and was able to see the progress that the new owners have made with this property. The location is beautiful--right at the tip of the Eastern Shore, just before the Chesapeake Bay Bridge-Tunnel. There's literally nothing around but US 13 and pristine nature.

The new owners are extremely friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. They really care, and it shows. The housekeepers I came into contact with were also very friendly. They let me check in well early on Monday. The only drawback is that the Grille is closed Monday and Tuesday (that's their weekend), but I've been plenty for the live music, and it's always a good time. I was planning to eat at the Cape Center (now known as Sting-Ray's) anyways, and at the Great Machipongo Clam Shack, both of which are easy drives from the property.

When I was stationed in Norfolk, I had a tradition of coming here after a particularly long week of flying, or whenever the carrier came back into port, just to relax for a few days. I stayed here as a teenager right before I soloed out of Campbell Field Airport in Weirwood. Yeah, I have biased memories. But... no matter what, you're not paying a lot of money, and you're getting a fine room. There are some super cheap motels up the road (no, there is nothing in the immediate proximity except the Shore Stay Suites), but you won't get the beach, the Grille, or the grounds. Not even a pool, if my memory serves me correctly.

If you live like a Kardashian, or even the typical whitebread/yuppie who isn't looking to get back to your primal human outdoor roots, what the heck are you even doing on the Virginia Shore? You made a wrong turn somewhere. Keep driving through. For the rest of us, this place is solid. A two-day vacation that I absolutely needed, and under $100. Good for families and kids. Good for couples. Good for solo fishermen. I'd say good for business travelers too (as there is decent quality working WiFi in the rooms now), but what business are you coming to conduct here? Room Tip: Ask for one on the back side if they have them available; this will give you a view out to the water."

The Sunset Beach Inn & Grille (and RV park) is a way of life - and one that I will always go back to visit -- again and again. How can you find it? Follow them on Facebook! Or contact them, below:

Sunset Beach Inn

32246 Lankford Hwy.

Cape Charles, VA 23310

800 899-4786

757 331-1776

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page